Back on the Blog

Just a few musings and random thoughts today. I think everyone has the desire to know and understand the world and to know and understand themselves. When I finished writing Draegnstoen, a couple of people asked me what the sequel was going to be about. I was stunned because there was no sequel. But I pursued it, and found it. I discovered that Draegnstoen was a cool idea, my “what if” interpretation of several elements of history woven together.

As I began looking for threads of a sequel within my mind, it finally came together. And I’ve come to realize that there is a lot more to it than I thought there was going to be. In some ways the story is my lens, looking at the world. In others it’s mirror into my own mind, experiences, heart, history and ancestry. Its my take on good and evil, heroes and villians, love and duty, friendship and destiny.

There is symbolism and metaphor, intentionally placed into the story, the little touches that make me smile and think, hmmm, that’s not half bad.  And then there is the thrill and awe of discovering even deeper meanings, things not intentional, somehow layered and woven into the story by my subconscious mind.

It’s not done yet. I hoped to have the rough draft done by the end of 2010. I didn’t meet that goal. It’s sitting at about 62,000 words right now and will probably end up at about 90,000. But it’s okay that its not complete yet. The joy is in the journey. It will be interesting to see what other things I learn about myself before I finish.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back on the Blog

  1. Janie Bill says:

    Hi Jeff. After reading Draegnstoen, I can’t wait to see your sequel.

    Talk to you soon!
    Janie

Leave a Reply

